Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association Political Action Committees

Ballot Recommendations and Candidate Endorsements for November 2010

The Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association takes positions on issues of direct concern to taxpayers. We also may take positions on ballot measures that will impact the economy. This is because, as taxpayers, we know from painful experience that when the economy turns sour and tax revenues go down, government's usual first reaction is to reach for the taxpayer's wallet. We recommend:

State Ballot Measures		State Senate	
Prop. 20 - Extends reform of	Vote YES	District 1 (Special)	Ted Gaines
Congressional redistricting	1010 120	District 4	Doug LaMalfa
Congressional redistricting		District 12	Anthony Cannella
Prop. 21 - Increases car tax	Vote NO	District 14	Tom Berryhill
1 Top. 21 moreases car tax	VOIC IVO	District 14 District 16	Tim Thiesen
Prop. 22 - Protects local	Vote YES		Rabbi Nachum Shifren
government funds		District 26	John S. Stammreich
This measure has strong arguments on both		District 28	
sides; however, we found the strongest argument		District 34	Lucille Kring
is that it assures local control of local funds.		District 36	Joel Anderson
าง เกลเ แ สวรนาชิว เบบสา บบทแบบ บา เบบสา เนทนร.		District 38	Mark Wyland
Prop. 23 - Protects jobs	Vote YES	State Assembly	
D 04 0 1 1 1	N. 111	District 2	Jim Neilson
Prop 24 - Cancels business	No position	District 3	Dan Logue
tax breaks		District 5	Andy Pugno
If passed, Prop. 24 would car		District 6	Robert Stephens
business that was passed as		District 7	Doris Gentry
budget deal that raised taxes on everyone else.		District 10	Jack Sieglock
California is a high-tax state. At HJTA we believe		District 15	Abram Wilson
all Californians deserve a tax cut. While we do		District 20	Serafin Quintanar
not object to cutting business taxes, we believe		District 25	Kristin Olsen
those who benefit should be promoting tax cuts		District 28	Robert Bernosky
that will lessen the burden on all state residents.		District 29	Linda Halderman
			David G. Valadao
Prop. 25 - Repeals the 2/3	Vote NO	District 30	Brandon Shoemaker
majority for state budget		District 31	
		District 32	Shannon Grove
Prop. 26 - Plugs Prop. 13	Vote YES	District 35	Mike Stoker
loophole		District 36	Steve Knight
		District 37	Jeff Gorell
Prop. 27 - Returns power of	Vote NO	District 40	Dennis DeYoung
redistricting to politicians		District 43	Sunder Ramani
		District 44	Alvaro Day
		District 53	Nathan Mintz
State Offices		District 55	Chris Salabaj
Governor	Meg Whitman	District 59	Tim Donnelly
Lt. Governor (write-in)	Karen England	District 63	Mike Morrell
Attorney General	Steve Cooley	District 64	Brian Nestande
Secretary of State	Damon Dunn	District 68	Allan Mansoor
Treasurer	Mimi Walters	District 70	Donald P. Wagner
Controller	Tony Strickland	District 75	Nathan Fletcher
	-	District 79	Derrick Roach
Board of Equalization		District 80	Steve Sanchez
District 2	George Runner		
District 3	Michelle Steele		
		1	

U.S. Senate Carly Fiorina

U.S. House of Representatives

District 3 Dan Lungren District 5 Paul Smith District 7 Rick Tubbs District 11 David Harmer District 19 Jeff Denham District 20 Andy Vidak Tom Watson District 23 District 29 John Colbert Mattie Fein District 36 District 37 Star Parker District 39 Larry Andre Van Tran District 47

Local Races

L.A. County Assessor
San Diego County Assessor
Costa Mesa City Council
Chula Vista City Council
Escondido City Council
Lake Forest City Council
Moreno Valley City Council
Rancho Santa Margarita
City Council

San Diego City Council Villa Park City Council Ventura County Treasurer

Orange County Treasurer
Orange County Supervisor
Sacramento County Sheriff
Fullerton City Council
Fountain Valley Council
Mayor of Vacaville
Castaic Lake Water Agency
Natomas Unified School

District

Sequoia Healthcare District Board John Noguez Ernie Dronenberg Jim Righeimer Larry Breitfelder Marie Waldron Scott Voigts Marcia Amino Steve Baric

Lorie Zapf Deborah Pauly Judge Steven Hinz

Shari Freidenrich Shawn Nelson Scott Jones Bruce Whitaker Mark McCurdy Dilenna Harris Kevin Korenthal Ryan Herche

Hickey, Graham and Stogner